Posted in Drawing, News

An Animal Affair – for the 2017 Dandelion Wishes Gala

An Animal Affair
Donated for the Dandelion Wishes Gala for silent auction on February 24th, 2017, which will raise funds for the new Monash Children’s Hospital in Clayton, Victoria.
Size: A2
Materials: Faber Castell Polychromos and Prismacolor Premier coloured pencils, blended with odourless mineral spirits.
Approximately 17 hours of work.
 
A first draft of this (which is seen toward the end of the video) was planned to arrange the components of this image. I wanted a clean artwork for the final piece, so I created a first draft to be traced to complete the final work.
 
An Animal Affair represents both my country hometown of Mildura, in the Sunraysia region, and Melbourne.
 
I have a close connection to both places, as I was born and live in Mildura, but I travel to Melbourne frequently.
Mildura is known for its production of fruits. Approximately 80% of Victoria’s grapes come from Mildura.
 
This gathering of native Australian animals represents rural Australian life, except for the indecisive ‘hipster’ possum, who can often be found frequenting Melbourne’s trendiest bars and cafes.
mildura artist izabelle falvo dandelion gala monashmildura artist izabelle falvo
Author:

Growing up in the Sunraysia region of Victoria, I had an interest in visual art since age 8. After completing my Bachelor of Visual Arts (Graphic Design) in 2010, I went on to work as a photojournalist for the next 2 years. Due to chronic health issues, I now enjoy less strenuous forms of visual art, such as drawing, painting and film. I love experimenting with different mediums. Except oil paint. I'm not willing to give that a second chance...

Leave a Reply

