Posted in News

Art update

Hello, checking in with an art update; after a ‘creative block’ of 6 months I am not even kidding with that one), I am finally working on my piece to donate to the 2017 Dandelion Wishes Charity Gala.

It’s been a year in February since the last one, where I donated my ‘That’s Melbourne’ portrait artwork. This gala raises funds for the new Monash Children’s Hospital, opening early 2017.

I find it hard to start work on something I visualise in my head, but have not a single reference image I can copy (like a celebrity portrait).

Copying a reference image is great for technical skill but doesn’t to a whole lot for flexing your imagination.

mildura art artist izabelle falvo dandelion gala

Author:

Growing up in the Sunraysia region of Victoria, I had an interest in visual art since age 8. After completing my Bachelor of Visual Arts (Graphic Design) in 2010, I went on to work as a photojournalist for the next 2 years. Due to chronic health issues, I now enjoy less strenuous forms of visual art, such as drawing, painting and film. I love experimenting with different mediums. Except oil paint. I'm not willing to give that a second chance...

Leave a Reply

