Posted in Painting

Australian flora coasters – Painting

mildura art artist izabelle falvo flora painting

Here are 4 coasters I created for my brother for Christmas.

Approximately 4 1/2 hours of work.

For this I have used wooden coasters from Bunnings, Mont Marte gesso primer, Reeves acrylic paint and gloss varnish, and graphite pencil for some sketching.

Each coaster represents native Australian flora – A bottlebrush (callistemon), gumnuts (eucalyptus leucoxylon) a waratah (telopea), and Canberra bells (correa).

Halfway through this project I realised that these probably would not be practical as coasters – the paint, when dry, was very tacky, and so was the varnish. I debated using Liquitex pouring medium, but I thought varnish would be better for hot and cold cups.

Although these won’t be used as coasters, they will still look great someplace on a shelf.

Instagram & Snapchat: izabellerenee
Enquiries: izabellefalvo@hotmail.com

Author:

Growing up in the Sunraysia region of Victoria, I had an interest in visual art since age 8. After completing my Bachelor of Visual Arts (Graphic Design) in 2010, I went on to work as a photojournalist for the next 2 years. Due to chronic health issues, I now enjoy less strenuous forms of visual art, such as drawing, painting and film. I love experimenting with different mediums. Except oil paint. I'm not willing to give that a second chance...

Leave a Reply

